Perfect Little Dates

Have you ever wondered why we meet the people we meet? Why this person at this time at this place? Why?

Someone I once loved very much told me that our lifes’ paths are already written in the stars.  Our paths were meant to cross. We were meant to fall in love. It was serendipitous. 

Our first date we went biking through the narrow alleys of Kanazawa, Japan at the beginning of spring. The streets were painted a soft pink with fallen cherry blossoms. It was magical. 

We then biked to Kenrokuen, one of Japan’s most revered gardens. The evening sun peeked through the well manicured garden creating an unexplainable glow everywhere. The light cascaded on our faces and all I could think at that moment was “あなたははるいちばんの桜より美しいです。” (You are more beautiful than the first cherry blossom of spring.)  We then gently kissed. 

It was like being kissed for the first time. Unimaginable euphoria. Like a little boy, I went to bed that night with the happiest smile etched in on my face.

A year and a half later, after a perfect relationship our life’s course suddenly changed and we had no choice but to go our separate ways. I pretended I was not hurt, concealing my pain with a thinly veiled mask but I was devastated.

I remember sadly asking, “Why did we have to break up?” Once again I was told,“It was written in the stars. If we are meant to be together, our paths will cross again one day and we will be together.” That sentence was then punctuated by an “I love you.”

Last night was one of those great nights. I had no plans except a quiet dinner with myself while watching a yet-to-be-decided-show. 

A message with the words “Knock, knock” popped up on my screen and that’s when it all began. My friend and I were chatting about everything, talking about our very different childhoods, our wishes, and we then taught the other phrases from our native language and  I was then unexpectedly asked, “Do you want  to hear me play the piano?”

Without a moment’s hesitation, I said “Yes.” On the other side of the screen what I heard moved me in a way that I hadn’t been in a very long time. I was being serenaded by “Ballade pour Adeline” a hauntingly beautiful masterpiece by genius French pianist, Richard Clayderman (née Philippe Pagès).

Each key that was being played wooed me, tugged at my heart strings, stirred emotions deeply buried in my heart. 

When the ballad was over, I expressed a genuine thank you. I was thoroughly moved but it had only started. The next twenty minutes I was listening in on my own private concert. These sonatas felt like they were written only for my ears and to be stored only in my heart. 

As time passed and I occasionally stared at the full moon smiling at me, I knew this was one of those perfect little dates that had unexpectedly just happened. Some time later we then wished each other a good night and sweet dreams. I then laid on my bed, closed my eyes and hummed “Ballade pour Adeline” until I fell asleep.

A couple walks through the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa, Japan. Taken Spring 2009. 

Jenson recommends: Listen to “Ballade pour Adeline” and please share your perfect little date.

– Jenson

This entry was posted in Life, Love, Love Stories, Trinidad and Tobago and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perfect Little Dates

  1. Denzil Ramdass says:

    wow an enchanting piece jenson, luv it 🙂

  2. Clyde says:

    Love it.

Leave a Reply

