Vogue

After reading the beautifully written article “Emma Watson’s New Day” by Amanda Foreman in Vogue, I couldn’t help but fall in love with the young woman who plays the iconic role of Hermione Granger in the Harry Potter series.

I was only reading her words plastered on my computer screen but I truly felt like I was with her discussing Joan Miró exhibition at London’s Tate Modern. She seems to have this unpretentious air about her, an unassuming easiness that just oozes from her being.

As the article climaxes and talk turns to her upcoming role in “The Perks of Being a Wall Flower“, where she plays Sam, the antithesis of Hermione, Foreman writes, “Near the end of the novel, Sam speaks for every young woman with a burning heart, a radiant soul, and a devouring need to experience all that life has to offer: “I’m going to do what I want to do. I’m going to be who I really am. I’m going to figure out what that is.””

I decided then and there Emma Watson and I would fast become great friends, and Sam, the protagonist of “The Perks of Being a Wall Flower“, with that burning desire to experience everything resides within all of us.

Yesterday, I was having my daily cup of Skype with my mother and talks about my future post-Japan came up, a future that is as uncertain as tomorrow. She, like all mothers, have this inherent need to protect their children to ensure that they are given the best, that  they  achieve the best but most of all that they are simply happy.

As my mother continued, and I slowly became more impatient, I interrupted her and said, “I am going to do the things that make me happy. I want to live my life the way I want to. I want to experience the world and truly immerse myself it in.”

And that was the truth and my mother understood.

I have always said that we are all on a journey of self discovery trying to find ourselves but many of us never do, but we always learn.

Clichés are clichés for a reason. They are based on an insurmountable of truth. Journeys, the most epic or the tiniest treks, are meant to be unabashedly enjoyed because our final destinations like the great abyss is very much unknown.

In order to revel in simplicities of life and the hurdles that will follow, each of us should live like Sam and tell ourselves everyday: “I’m going to do what I want to do. I’m going to be who I really am. I’m going to figure out what that is.”

Fin.

Source: "Emma Watson's New Day", Vogue Magazine. Photographed by Mario Testino.

Jenson recommends: Discovering your Sam.

 

– Jenson

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

