Love Songs

The worst part of breaking up is shattering into a million little seemingly unrepairable pieces of your former self. You are enveloped with despair, you bleed tears and see nothing but a happy past and the irony of a cruel present.

Your friends’ advice, as well intended as they may be, are nothing more than incomprehensible echoes.

The world races on somehow unable to comprehend the devastating hurt that broods in you.

You stand in silence, stationary, as waves of constant painful reminders sweep past you, leaving you paralyzed.

Lyrics of melancholy ballads become your only friend. They fill the emptiness that you’ve morphed into.

Somehow every sentence, everyone word, every punctuation mark sings to you.  It stings as it soothes your pain, carving a new wound but you can’t stop listening. Those lyrics have now become the poetry of your life.

As time slowly ticks on, these depressing musical sonnets are soon replaced by happier ones that will strum along to define a new journey in your life.

Admittedly, I am not the most versed in musical knowledge. However, I know what moves me and that’s all that really matters in the end. I humbly share my favorite sad love songs with you (Click on the name of the song to listen to it).

1. Regina Spektor–  Samson

“You are my sweetest downfall, I loved you first.”

2. AdeleSomeone Like You

“Don’t forget me I beg…”.

3. A Fine Frenzy– Almost Lover

“Goodbye  my hopeless dream, I am trying not to think about you. Can’t you just let me be?”

4. The Cranberries– When You’re Gone

“Hold on to my hands, I feel sinking, sinking without you.”

5. The Mighty Sparrow– Only A Fool

“It’s no use to try to hang on to a love already gone.”

6. The CarpentersThe End of the World

“It’s the end of world because you don’t love me anymore.”

7. James BluntGoodbye my lover

“I am a dreamer and when I wake, you can break my spirit, it’s my dreams you take.”

8. Etta JamesI’d Rather Go Blind

“I would rather go blind than to see you walk away from me…”

9.  Divine Brown- Old Skool Love

“I know it is wrong to be holding on but damn you for being the one I love”

.

Jenson recommends: Falling apart is as inherent part of life and so is listening to the sad love songs that comes with it. What are your favourite love songs?

– Jenson

This entry was posted in Life, Love, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Songs

  1. Marc says:

    I remember u told me about numbers 1 and 3…they have since become my favourite ballads.

Leave a Reply

